UPSC IAS Age Limit 2023: Eligibility, Educational Qualification, Number of Attempts

UPSC IAS Eligibility: Clearing the UPSC Civil Services Examination and joining the Indian Administrative Services has been the dream of many civil service aspirants. Every year many candidates appear for the UPSC IAS examination and join the civil services as an IAS officer. Keeping in mind, the popularity of this examination, here we will provide the complete detail about the UPSC IAS examination 2023.

This article is for every single aspirant who is appearing and will be planning to appear for this prestigious examination and one of the most difficult examinations in the world. Furthermore, this article will provide each and every detail about this examination. The details will include information about the eligibility criteria for the IAS examination in the year 2023 along with the number of attempts allowed to the candidates by the UPSC authority.

UPSC IAS Eligibility Criteria
UPSC IAS Age Limit 2023: Eligibility, Educational Qualification, Number of Attempts 2

UPSC IAS Examination Overview 2023

The highlights of the examination have been delivered in the table below. Interested applicants can have a look at the table below:

Name of the ExaminationCivil Services Examination 2023
Name of the ServiceIndian Administrative Service
Exam Conducting Authority Union Public Service Commission (UPSC)
Education Required Graduate
Selection Procedure Preliminary Examination
Mains Examination
Mode of Application Online
Mode of Declaration of Result Online
Job Location All Over India
Concerned Portal

UPSC IAS Examination 2023:Important Dates

The following table provided below will exhibit the important dates regarding the UPSC Civil Service Examination to be held in the coming months. The UPSC has released the official notification for the civil services examination for the year 2023. Therefore, we have stated all the important dates regarding the IAS examination 2023 in the table below:

Events Dates
Notification of the Civil Services Preliminary Examination 2023 was Released on 1st of February, 2023
End date to apply 21st of February, 2023
Preliminary Examination Commence From28th of May, 2023
Result Declaration To Be Notified Later

UPSC IAS Age Limit 2023

The candidates appearing for the UPSC IAS examination are suggested to go through all the eligibility criteria of the examination. Only after fulfilling these criteria, the candidates should fill up the examination form for the UPSC IAS Examination 2023. Here in this section, we have provided the age criteria required by the UPSC for the Civil Services Examination 2023.

The applicant planning to appear for this examination should have possessed the lower age limit of 21 years and they should not have obtained the age of 32 years on the crucial date of 1st August 2023. To provide a finer picture of the age criteria, the candidates applying should not have been born before the 2nd of August,1991 and not after the 1st of August,2002. Moreover, UPSC also provides upper age limit relaxations to candidates belonging to different categories. The upper age limit relaxation has been provided in the table below:

CategoryUpper Age Limit Relaxation
SC or ST CandidatesUpto 5 Years
OBC CandidatesUpto 3 Years
Defence Service Personnel(Disabled)Upto 3 Years
Ex-ServicemenUpto 5 Years
PwBDUpto 10 Years

Also Check:

Minimum Educational Qualification

The educational criteria is one of the most important eligibility criteria required to be fulfilled by the interested candidates. For the students to appear for the UPSC IAS Examination, the applicants should possess a graduate degree from any university or institute recognized by the Government of India. Apart from this, the candidates who are in their final year of graduation can also appear for the UPSC Civil Services Examination. However, the candidates finally declared to be qualified by the UPSC will have to submit the evidence of qualifying their graduate examination. The evidence of qualifying graduate examination should be provided prior to the Mains examination. Failing to provide the proof, the candidates will not be allowed to appear in the Mains examination.

Apart from this, the candidates who are possessing any professional, as well as a graduate degree, are also eligible for the Civil Services Examination 2023. These degrees should also be recognized by any university or institute authorized by the Government of India. The candidates who have completed their MBBS are also eligible for the examination.

Number of attempts in CSE

Many aspirants of the UPSC CSE examination must not be aware of the fact that there is a limitation in the number of attempts for the candidates. More specifically, the candidates are provided with a limited number of attempts to appear for this particular Civil Service Examination conducted by the Union Public Service Commission. In the next paragraph, we will provide each and every detail regarding the number of attempts in the CSE examination.

The candidates who are eligible to apply for the UPSC CSE examination and have attempted the Civil Services Examination six times are not eligible to apply for the seventh time. It clearly means that the candidates belonging to the unreserved category are allowed to appear for a total of six (6) attempts only. However, it is to be noticed that the candidates belonging to the reserved category have been provided relaxation in the number of attempts also. The table below provides a clear understanding of that.

CategoryAttempts to be Provided
OBC Candidates09
ST and SC CandidatesNo Limit
ST and SC- No Limit
OBC, GL and EWS- 09

Other Eligibility Conditions

Apart from this, the aspirants should also fulfil these basic qualifications. The applicants opting for any of the services such as the Indian Foreign Service(IFS), Indian Administrative Service(IAS) or the Indian Police Service(IAS) should be a citizen of India only. Now if a candidate wants to opt for any other services than those mentioned above, then the candidate can be a citizen of any of the following countries mentioned below:

  • Indian Citizen
  • Bhutan’s Subject
  • Nepal’s Subject
  • A PIO migrated from other countries to settle in India
  • A refugee from Tibet who came to India prior to 01/01/1962 to permanently live in India.

For the above categories other than Indian nationals, the applicants should possess an eligibility certificate issued by the GOI.

Important Links

Check UPSC IAS Notification 2023
Visit>>UPSC Official Portal
For more updates visit>>NVSHQ HOME
Photo of author

Leave a Comment